Clubs

Student Council-YYPV

Darcy Arends darends@lps.org

Nicki Mollet nmollet@lps.org

***Students will learn leadership skills while becoming involved within the local community.

Meeting times: First Friday of every month from at 7:15-7:45 am in the media center-starting October 1st 2021 (no meeting in January)

Robotics

Brett Anderson banders7@lps.org

***VEX IQ Challenge teams of students are tasked with designing and building a robot to play with other teams in a game-based engineering challenge.

Meeting times:

6th Grade-every 2nd and 4th Wednesday of the month from 3:15-4:15 pm in room 325 (starting on 10/27/21)

7th/8th Grade-every 1st and 3rd Wednesday of the month from 3:15-4:15 pm in room 325 (starting on 10/20/21)

6th Grade Choir-BVGK

Hannah Lambert hlambert@lps.org

***An extracurricular choir for any 6th grade student who’d like to join! This choir will perform at school concerts and for other occasions throughout the semester. All 6th grade students are welcome to come sing!

Meeting times: every Tuesday from 7:10-7:50 am room 106 (starting Sept. 7th)

Winter concert-Thursday, December 9th 2021 at 7:00 pm

Spring concert-Thursday, May 12th 2022 at 7:00 pm

7/8th Show Grade Choir-BVGK

Hannah Lambert hlambert@lps.org

***For any students in 7th or 8th grade who love to sing, dance and perform! This choir will perform at school concerts and for other occasions throughout the year. Each semester we’ll focus on building musical and performance skills-join us!!!

Meeting times: every Thursday from 7:10-7:50 am room 106 and two Fridays a month from 3-4:15 pm. (starting Sept. 9th)

Winter concert-Thursday, December 9th 2021 at 7:00 pm

Spring concert-Thursday, May 12th 2022 at 7:00 pm

Creative Writing Club-GFP2

Faith Thomas fthomas@lps.org

***With weekly creative prompts, skill building practice, and independent writing time, students will be able to create their own stories and participate in a community of writers. All skill levels welcome!

Meeting times: every Thursday from 3:10-4:00 pm in room 236 (starting Sept. 2)

Jazz Band

Becky Wilhelm bwilhelm@lps.org

***Open to 7th and 8th grade band students. Students will learn about and play in a jazz ensemble and begin to develop some improvisation skills. The group will perform at least concerts during the school year.

Meeting times: day to be determined…7-7:45 am beginning after labor day-students will sign up in class

MOORE About Construction

Jane Edwards jedwards@lps.org

***This club will expose students to and allow hands-on activities within construction related fields. Get ready- a lot of these jobs might surprise you! This is a great opportunity to meet some of Lincoln’s best builders, working closely with members of the Home Builders Association of Lincoln.

Meeting times: 1st and 3rd Wednesdays from 3:05-4 pm in room 103 (starting Sept. 15th)